President Buhari leads with all results declared


Incumbent Nigerian president Muhammadu Buhari on Tuesday maintained a lead over his main challenger Atiku Abubakar in the race to become Nigeria’s next president, with all states declared.

Buhari, 76, who is seeking a second term, won 19 states, including Kano, Katsina, Kaduna and Jigawa in his home region of the northwest.

He also won in Kwara, Kogi Nasarawa and Niger state in northcentral and in southwestern states of Lagos, Ogun, Ekiti, Osun, and Ogun.

Buhari also won in northeastern states of Gombe, Borno, Bauchi, and Yobe.

Abubakar of the People’s Democratic Party had a clean sweep of southeast and south-south states. He also won in his home state, Adamawa, in the northeast.

The results from the Independent National Electoral Commission collation center in Abuja on Tuesday night showed that Buhari polled a total of 15, 191, 847 votes while Abubakar, with wins in 17 states and in Nigeria’s capital city Abuja, had a total of 11, 262, 978 votes.

Related posts

Leave a Comment